Pince & Pints

IMG_7743 IMG_7748 IMG_7751 IMG_7772 IMG_7773

I remember being like 13 or 14 in my fat days watching the food network alone crying to myself about why didn’t have any friends and I’d be amazed at how people ate regular steamed lobster with butter or in buttered rolls. Major salivation alert. However Singapore was less trend following then so a lobster shack of sorts never existed (at least I don’t think so). Flash forward 5 years later and there are a couple of places around now (Cajun Kings/ Dancing Crab) all great seafood centred places but there was never one with “just lobster”. Pince & Pints opened this monday and the very eggcited mother dragged Elliot, Leon and I to go and try.

They are a restaurant + bar so business only comes in later in the night for drinks. Their menu consists of 4 lobster items and a very very extensive drink menu (yay). We settled for ginger beer (mum’s recommendation) and a daiquiri (cause I am a woman). I’ll take you through the four items on the menu. And yes, we did order all four.

1. (Glorious) Lobster Roll

IMG_7776 Pince and Pints Eating

It’s actual name doesn’t have the word glorious in it- but it should. Perfectly buttered and toasted brioche bun with a whole lobster’s meat tossed in a light mayo dressing. The sauce on the side is kinda like hollandaise which I encourage you you lather generously all over for divine intervention. I think my face about says it all.

2. Chilli Lobster

IMG_7778 IMG_7779

Akin to the Singaporean favourite chilli crab. You obviously aren’t going to get the Melben quality but it really hit the spot. The lobster was very well cooked. The soft lobster meat went surprisingly well with the flavourful sauce albeit a bit oily. It is not as spicy as well so those with a milder palette will enjoy! And the fried mantous were just amazing, the obvious accompaniment to soak up all that sauce. My only real complaint is that it is so messy to eat! I’d advice you not to were anything white and no finger jewellery cause you will definitely have to get down and dirty for this.

3. Plain Old Lobster

IMG_7787

They serve their regular lobster 2 ways: steamed or grilled. The grilled one was better cooked for us. The grilled was delicate and soft while he steamed was slightly overcooked. The steam was also trapped inside the shell making the whole eating experience a wet sloppy mess. I applaud them for taking their butter seriously though. Usually plain old butter suffices but they take it up a notch with a herbed butter which makes all the difference.

IMG_7766

Ending the post with an over exposed photo of myself because what the heck this is my blog after all. I’d highly recommend this place if you’re planning a nice dinner with a high budget, based on my student budget, or I guess if you are in the working world you guys eat at these kinda places on a weekly basis right? Their lobster is a good size especially for standard price, other places make you pay by weight. And if it does’t fill you up the fries and salad (topped with so much cheese!!) will definitely finish you off. Their drinks are great too with an extensive menu with something for everyone.

Pince & Pints 
32-33 Duxton Road
Singapore 089497
http://www.pinceandpints.com
 

Have a great weekend!

2 comments

  1. You share interesting things here. I think that your website can go viral easily, but you must
    give it initial boost and i know how to do it, just search in google for – mundillo traffic
    increase go viral

Leave a Reply

