FFL Fresh Fruits Lab Review

IMG_6661 IMG_6646 IMG_6652 IMG_6641 IMG_6657 IMG_6644 IMG_6660 IMG_6653 IMG_6663

Hey guys, coming to you with a food review (lol what’s new right) on a relatively new cafe at the East! This is probably the second time I’ve ever been to the East with friends so it was a really interesting experience trying to navigate my way around. The rest shall be for another time, I digress. The cafe was pretty easy to find with a little help from google maps I could easily make the 8 minute walk from Kembangan MRT row of shop houses nestled between industrial buildings and large properties. FFL had cute decor, like chalk wall art and sofas with fruit pillows (pictured above) along side warm lighting to present a cozy atmosphere. We went on a thursday night so it wasn’t really packed but had a reasonable crowd to earn a profit.

When I sat down (because I was late so jials was alr seated, duh) I finally got to see the measuring cups and flask they use as drinking glasses as well as gave each person a complimentary test tube of fresh juice. We had pineapple and carrot but since we hate pineapple we split the carrot and left the pineapple to rot lol. What I really appreciated about the place was how extensive the menu was. From pastas to burgers and baked rice (seasonal menu), everything was well within a decent price range of 17 -20 dollars. Jials and I shared the Masago Caviar Pasta (My favourite, $20) and the Da Bomb Burger ($19, Jialses favourite). The burger was juicy, not greasy, with all the right elements; classic american cheese, an egg and of course, bacon. It came with a side of fries and fruit salad with was the perfect balance of sweet and savoury. Really your appetiser, meal and dessert rolled into one.

-Pasta appreciation paragraph, bear with me-

The Masago Pasta was a thing of beauty. If jails wasn’t there watching me I would have eaten it all up and said the woman cleared the plate when I wasn’t looking or something. Okay Masago caviar is basically fish roe. Very much like mentaiko pasta but less greasy which I find mentaiko to often be. The pasta was al dente tossed the lovely flavoured oil goodness that somehow had a creamy texture when i ate it. The caviar gave that slight seafood umami flavour that I love so much, like that sweet sweet feeling of eating prawns and sucking on the brain juice but less gross and more appealing to the eyes. I have to warn you that the scallops are spicy which will surprise you as the pasta is not spicy at all. But I tell you, if you take a little of the scallop and a twirl of pasta along with a teeny bit of that quail egg yolk on top, you’ll be gutted you didn’t get to eat it every single day.

-end of pasta appreciation-

All in all FFL is definitely a cafe to look out for. The variety of food available and quality of everything on the menu- forgot to add that our juice was delicious???- is truly what sets this place apart especially when it comes at such an affordable price range. Great for dates and catch ups!! My only criticism would be that the waitress didn’t even ask if I had finished my food and cleared my plate which had a precious scallop still on it?????????? grrr but I guess it was my fault for not touching it for 10 minutes but really you could ask right. Meh whatever. I’m just itching to find a weekend where I can try there brunch menu which is only available weekends 10am-3pm.

Fresh Fruits Lab

351 Changi Road

419818

Menu

Hope you’ve been having a great week and I’m currently brain storming on more interesting things to do for this blog hehe. stay tuned hopefully things come into fruition ^o^

Leave a Reply

